Is there a scale for depression?

The Center for Epidemiologic Studies Depression Scale (CES-D) was designed for use in the general population and is now used as a screener for depression in primary care settings. It includes 20 self-report items, scored on a 4-point scale, which measure major dimensions of depression experienced in the past week.

What is the PHQ-9 scale?

PHQ-9 Score Interpretation A PHQ-9 score total of 0-4 points equals “normal” or minimal depression. Scoring between 5-9 points indicates mild depression, 10-14 points indicates moderate depression, 15-19 points indicates moderately severe depression, and 20 or more points indicates severe depression.

What does the Hamilton depression scale measure?

The questionnaire is designed for adults and is used to rate the severity of their depression by probing mood, feelings of guilt, suicide ideation, insomnia, agitation or retardation, anxiety, weight loss, and somatic symptoms.

How do depression scales work?

A depression rating scale is a psychiatric measuring instrument having descriptive words and phrases that indicate the severity of depression for a time period. When used, an observer may make judgements and rate a person at a specified scale level with respect to identified characteristics.

What does GAD-7 score mean?

A score of 10 or greater on the GAD-7 represents a reasonable cut point for identifying cases of GAD. Cut points of 5, 10, and 15 might be interpreted as representing mild, moderate, and severe levels of anxiety on the GAD-7, similar to levels of depression on the PHQ-9.

What is the HDRS 17?

The HDRS (also known as the Ham-D) is the most wide- ly used clinician-administered depression assessment scale. The original version contains 17 items (HDRS17) pertain- ing to symptoms of depression experienced over the past week.

When do we use Phq 9?

At the initial visit for depression care the PHQ-9 is used to assist with diagnosis and identification of problem symptoms. At the follow-up visit, the PHQ-9 is used to measure treatment response and identify specific symptoms that are not responding.

How to measure depression?

The Beck Depression Inventory (BDI) is widely used to screen for depression and to measure behavioral manifestations and severity of depression. The BDI can be used for ages 13 to 80. The inventory contains 21 self-report items which individuals complete using multiple choice response formats. The BDI takes approximately 10 minutes to complete.

What is the Cornell Scale for depression?

Cornell Scale for Depression in Dementia. The CSDD takes approximately 20 minutes to administer. The CSDD is a 19-item scale, with scores of 0 for absent, 1 for mild or intermittent, and 2 for severe symptoms. A total score of 10 indicate probable major depression and greater than 18 indicate definite major depression.

What is Self Rating Depression Scale?

The Zung Self-Rating Depression Scale is a 20-item self-report questionnaire that is widely used as a screening tool, covering affective, psychological and somatic symptoms associated with depression. The questionnaire takes about 10 minutes to complete, and items are framed in terms of positive and negative statements.

How to score the Hamilton Depression Scale?

The Hamilton Rating Scale for Depression (Hamilton, 1960; Hamilton, 1967) is a 17-item instrument that was designed to measure frequency and intensity of depressive symptoms in individuals with major depressive disorder. Ratings are made using either a five- or a three-point scale, yielding total scores from zero to 61.