Is the River Severn a river basin?

2 About the Severn River Basin District The Severn River Basin District is home to over 5.3 million people and covers an area of 21,590km2, with about one third of the district in Wales. The River Severn is the longest river in Britain and flows into the Severn Estuary.

What is the Severn River Basin?

The Severn River Basin District, which covers over 21,000km2, lies both in England and Wales. It extends from the Welsh uplands, through the rolling hills of the Midlands and south to the Severn Estuary. Over 5 million people live in the river basin district.

How wide is the Severn Estuary?

about 2 miles
The estuary is about 2 miles (3.2 km) wide at Aust, and about 9 miles (14 km) wide between Cardiff and Weston-super-Mare.

What is the average depth of the River Severn?

between 0.5m and 2.52m
At this monitoring station, the normal level of the River Severn is between 0.5m and 2.52m. The highest level ever recorded was on Wednesday 1st November 2000 where the River Severn at the Welsh Bridge reached 5.25m.

How wide is the River Severn?

five miles wide
The estuary of the River Severn is over five miles wide. The estuary forms a physical boundary between England and Wales. During high tides a wall of water can travel upstream for over 25 miles. This tidal wave is known as the Severn Bore and can swell the depth of the river by up to 50ft (15m).

What is the length of the River Severn?

220 mi
River Severn/Length

What is the catchment area of the Severn?

The catchment extends from the southern end of Telford, through the rural areas of West Shropshire, the urban conurbations of Bridgnorth, Kidderminster, Stourport, Bromsgrove and Droitwich into the city of Worcester.

What is catchment area of a river?

A catchment is an area of land where water collects when it rains, often bounded by hills. As the water flows over the landscape it finds its way into streams and down into the soil, eventually feeding the river.

What is the mouth of the River Severn?

Severn Estuary
River Severn/Mouths

What are the 4 towns that sit on the River Severn?

The county towns of Shrewsbury, Gloucester and the City of Worcester lie on its course. The Severn’s major tributaries are the Vyrnwy, the Tern, the Teme, the Warwickshire Avon, and the Worcestershire Stour.

Where is the Severn Vale?

The Severn Vale lies between the foot of the Cotswold scarp and the Royal Forest of Dean and Leadon Valley, and stretches from Tewkesbury in the north all, the way to the Severn Bridge in the south west of Gloucestershire.