Does the Joint Commission have standards for culturally competent care?

The Joint Commission has released new cultural competency standards which will be in effect beginning no earlier than January 2012. The Joint Commission has made several efforts to better understand individual patients’ needs and to provide guidance for organizations working to address those needs.

What is cultural competence according to the Joint Commission?

Showing respect for your patients’ cultural, spiritual, and psychosocial values demonstrates cultural competency. 1 Cultural competency enables healthcare workers to understand their patient’s expectations about the care, treatment, and services they receive.

What does the Joint Commission say about communication?

The Joint Commission recommends an approach to communicating health information that encompasses language needs, individual understanding, and cultural and other communication issues.

What is an essential component of cultural competence for healthcare workers according to Joint Commission?

Cultural competence in health care describes the ability of systems to provide care to patients with diverse values, beliefs and behaviors, including tailoring delivery to meet patients’ social, cultural, and linguistic needs.

What are CLAS standards?

The National CLAS Standards describe a framework to deliver services that are culturally and linguistically appropriate and respectful, and that respond to patients’ cultural health beliefs, preferences and communication needs. Standards can be employed by all members of a health care organization, state or community.

What are the standards of effective communication?

Slide 6: Standards of Effective Communication

  • Complete: Communicate all relevant information.
  • Clear: Convey information that is plainly understood.
  • Brief: Communicate the information in a concise manner.
  • Timely: Offer and request information in an appropriate timeframe. Verify authenticity.

What is the purpose of Clas?

The National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services in Health and Health Care (known as the National CLAS Standards) are intended to advance health equity, improve quality and help eliminate health care disparities by establishing a blueprint for organizations to deliver effective.