Who won the Tchaikovsky competition?

The International Tchaikovsky Competition is a classical music competition held every four years in Moscow and Saint Petersburg, Russia, for pianists, violinists, and cellists between 16 and 32 years of age and singers between 19 and 32 years of age….Grand Prix.

Year Winner Category
2019 Alexandre Kantorow Piano

Who won the first Tchaikovsky Competition?

Van Cliburn
4. Van Cliburn performs. The winner of the inaugural competition, Van Cliburn, performs to a packed hall.

What is the most prestigious piano competition?

The Honens International Piano Competition takes place every three years and is considered one of the world’s most prestigious events of its kind, awarding $100,000 (CAD) and a comprehensive Artist Development Program.

How often is Tchaikovsky Competition?

once every four years
The International Tchaikovsky Competition is held once every four years.

What did Van Cliburn play to win the Tchaikovsky Competition?

Once proclaimed “The Texan Who Conquered Russia,” Van Cliburn soared into the spotlight in 1958 at the age of 23, when he won the first ever International Tchaikovsky Piano Competition in Moscow with a legendary performance of Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto in the final round.

When did Van Cliburn won the Tchaikovsky competition?

At the height of the Cold War in 1958, Van Cliburn—a 23-year-old Texan—won the first International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, a contest designed to demonstrate Soviet cultural superiority on the heels of the country’s launch of Sputnik.

What era is Rachmaninoff?

Romantic era
One of the most legendary pianists of all time, Sergei Rachmaninoff was a leading figure of Russian music in the late Romantic era. He stunned audiences with his virtuosity and touch, touring widely and performing his own music.

What is the hardest piano competition?

The International Ettore Pozzoli Piano Competition, for tradition and amount of prize, is one of the oldest and most prestigious piano competitions in the world, taking place in Seregno, Italy since 1959 and held every 2 years.

How often is Chopin Competition?

every five years
Fryderyka Chopina), often referred to as the Chopin Competition, is a piano competition held in Warsaw, Poland. It was initiated in 1927 and has been held every five years since 1955.

What happened to Tianxu an?

Pianist Tianxu An, a competitor in the final round of the prestigious Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, fell victim to an epic mix-up which saw the orchestra start the wrong piece. He nodded to conductor Vasily Petrenko to begin, expected the epic orchestral chords of the Tchaikovsky.

How often is the Van Cliburn competition?

The Van Cliburn Competition is held once every four years, in the year of United States presidential inaugurations….Van Cliburn International Piano Competition.

Founded 1962
Website cliburn.org

Where is the Tchaikovsky Competition held?

The XIV International Tchaikovsky Competition was held in Moscow and St. Petersburg, Russia, from 14 June to 1 July 2011, under the auspices of the Russian federal government and its Ministry of Culture. The competition disciplines were piano, violin, cello, and voice (male singers and female singers).

Who won the 1962 Tchaikovsky Piano Competition?

Vladimir Ashkenazi (USSR), recipient of the 1 st prize at the piano competition. 1962. Photo by S. Khenkin ©Glinka Museum John Ogdon (Great Britain), recipient of the 1 st prize at the piano competition, at the Tchaikovsky House Museum in Klin. 1962.

Who were the winners of the 1990 Glinka Music Competition?

Boris Berezovsky (USSR), recipient of the 1 st prize at the piano competition. 1990. Photo by A. Stepanov ©Glinka Museum Akiko Suwanai (Japan), recipient of the 1 st prize at the violin competition. 1990. Photo by A. Stepanov ©Glinka Museum Recipients of the 1 st prize at the vocalists’ competition Hans Choi (USA) and Deborah Voigt (USA). 1990.

Who was the 2nd prize winner of the Glinka Museum?

Stanislav Igolinsky (USSR), recipient of the 2 nd prize at the piano competition rehearsing with the conductor Dmitrij Kitajenko. 1974. Photo by A. Stepanov ©Glinka Museum Prize-winners of the piano competition Pascal Devoyon (France, 2 nd prize), Mikhail Pletnev (USSR, 1 st prize) and André Laplante (Canada, 2 nd prize). 1978.