Who had Senate in 2012?

Senate elections Democrats were expected to have 23 seats up for election, including 2 independents who caucus with the Democrats, while Republicans were only expected to have 10 seats up for election. The Democrats ended up retaining majority control of the Senate, picking up two net seats.

Who are US senators from Maryland?

Chris Van Hollen (Democratic Party)
Ben CardinSince 2007

How many senators do we have in Maryland?

Maryland Senate
Seats 47
Political groups Majority Democratic (32) Minority Republican (15)
Length of term 4 years
Authority Article III, Section 2, Maryland Constitution

Has Maryland had a female senator?

Maryland’s first two senators, Charles Carroll and John Henry, took office on March 4, 1789. Maryland’s longest-serving senators include Millard Tydings (1927-1951), Paul Sarbanes (1977-2007), and Barbara Mikulski (1987-2017). In 2011 Barbara Mikulski became the longest-serving female senator to date.

Who is Baltimore senator?

As of January 2019, 32 of those seats are held by Democrats and 15 by Republicans. The leader of the Senate is known as the President, a position currently held by Bill Ferguson, who represents Baltimore City….Current leadership.

Position President of the Senate
Name Bill Ferguson
Party Democratic
District 46

Who is the oldest female senator?

At 88, Feinstein is the oldest sitting U.S. senator. On March 28, 2021, Feinstein became the longest-serving U.S. senator from California, surpassing Hiram Johnson. Upon Barbara Mikulski’s retirement in January 2017, Feinstein became the longest-tenured female U.S. senator currently serving.

Who was the longest-serving female senator?

In the Senate, Margaret Chase Smith, who served for 23 years from 1949 to 1973 as a senator from Maine, was the longest-serving female Senator upon her retirement. Her record was surpassed in 2011 by Barbara Mikulski of Maryland, who served for 30 years from 1987 to 2017.