What is the function of the Secretariat of the Pacific Community?

Secretariat of the Pacific Community, formerly (1947–98) South Pacific Commission, organization founded in 1947 by the governments of Australia, France, New Zealand, the Netherlands, Great Britain, and the United States to advise them on economic, social, and health matters affecting the South Pacific island …

What are the three main divisions of Secretariat of the Pacific Community?

The agency has three main divisions: land, marine and social. SPC’s headquarters are located in Noumea with a sub-branch in Suva.

What are the four examples of Pacific communities?


Member Population (2020) Associated Nation
American Samoa 56,813 United States
Australia 25,882,100
Cook Islands 17,459 New Zealand
Fiji 926,276

What does SPC in Fiji stand for?

The Pacific Community
The Pacific Community (SPC)

Why was the Pacific Community established?

Founded in 1947 They established our organisation under the Canberra Agreement to restore stability to a region that had experienced the turbulence of the Second World War, to assist in administering their dependent territories and to benefit the people of the Pacific.

Who are the members of Asia Pacific community?

All 22 Pacific nations and territories (American Samoa, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and …

What is the modern name for the South Pacific Forum?

It was founded in 1971 as the South Pacific Forum (SPF), and changed its name in 1999 to “Pacific Islands Forum”, so as to be more inclusive of the Forum’s Oceania-spanning membership of both north and south Pacific island countries, including Australia. It is a United Nations General Assembly observer.

How many countries are in the Pacific community?

The Pacific Community has 26 members, including 22 Island Countries and Territories and four founding members: Australia, France, New Zealand and the United States.

What are the 5 Pacific islands?

For more detailed discussion of the land and people of individual island groups and states, see the articles American Samoa, Caroline Islands, Cook Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Line Islands, Mariana Islands, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Midway Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue …

How can I join APEC?

To be eligible to apply for an ABTC you must hold a valid passport from an APEC economy (or be a permanent resident of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (Hong Kong, China), engage in regular business travel throughout the APEC region and have no criminal conviction.

Is India member of Asean?

India became a sectoral dialogue partner of ASEAN in 1992. India also became a member of the ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF) in 1996. India and ASEAN have been holding summit-level meetings on an annual basis since 2002. In August 2009, India signed a Free Trade Agreement (FTA) with the ASEAN members in Thailand.