What does it take to get a gun license in NJ?

To apply for a permit to purchase or an FPIC, the individual must complete the New Jersey State Police application which is available from your local police department, the New Jersey State Police, or from a licensed retail dealer. The same application is used both for permits to purchase and for FPICs.

Do you have to register your guns in NJ?

Only handguns are required to be registered to you if purchased in State as a resident. Rifles/shotguns are not required to be registered. If you have sold that handgun to another resident of New Jersey, then the newly submitted Pistol Purchase Permit will update the States firearm database.

How long does it take to get a firearm permit in NJ?

Once the forms are complete and your references return their questionnaires, you should be issued your Firearms Purchaser’s ID card within 30 days. After you are issued your card, you may purchase a long gun (shotgun, rifle, black powder rifle, or BB gun).

How much does it cost to register a gun in NJ?

State and Link to State Website Permit Type Fee
New Jersey Firearms purchaser identification card (required to purchase, possess, and carry long guns) $5
Permit to purchase a handgun $2
Permit to possess and carry a handgun $20
New Mexico Concealed handgun license $100

Can you keep a loaded gun in your house in NJ?

Can You Have a Loaded Gun in Your House in New Jersey? Yes. A person can keep and carry any legal firearm in his or her place of business, residence, premises or other land owned or possessed.

How long does it take to get a gun permit in NJ?

within 30 days
If you qualify to receive an FPIC or permit to purchase a handgun, it should be issued within 30 days.

Can my wife use my gun for self defense in NJ?

There are no statutory exceptions or exemptions for household or family members on any grounds, whether self-defense, safety instructions, maintenance, or merely moving the gun about the house. This means, under New Jersey law, the concept of a family house gun is inherently unlawful.

Can my wife use my gun in NJ?

What guns are illegal in New Jersey?

New Jersey generally prohibits carry firearms in vehicles without a permit. People without permits may only carry a firearm if it is unloaded and either secured in a locked container or locked in the trunk. It is illegal to carry a loaded long gun in a vehicle.

Can I own a gun in New Jersey?

Conventional rifles, shotguns and handguns are legal to buy and own in the state. But New Jersey requires a permit to purchase a handgun, as well as a firearms purchaser identification card for the purchase of a long gun, such as a rifle or shotgun, according to state statute.

Do you need a permit to buy a BB gun in NJ?

Since a BB gun or pellet gun is considered a handgun under New Jersey law, a permit to carry a firearm of this type is necessary. 2C:58-4 – Permits to Carry Handguns sets forth licensing procedures for a handgun.

Is a BB gun considered a gun in New Jersey?

Under New Jersey law a BB gun or pellet is undoubtedly a firearm. Furthermore, a handgun is defined under NJSA 2C:39-1 (k) as a pistol, revolver or any other weapon that can be fired with the use of only a single hand. Since a BB gun is fired with one hand and is considered a firearm under NJ law,…