What country is Polynesia in?

New Zealand
Polynesia is a group of over one thousand islands located within a triangle over the central and southern Pacific Ocean. The triangle’s corners are at the Hawaiian Islands, New Zealand, and Easter Island. “Polynesia” comes from the Greek words meaning “many islands.”…Polynesian Countries 2021.

Country 2021 Population
Tokelau 1,373

What country owns Polynesia?

listen); French: Polynésie française [pɔlinezi fʁɑ̃sɛz]; Tahitian: Pōrīnetia Farāni) is an overseas collectivity of France and its sole overseas country. It comprises 118 geographically dispersed islands and atolls stretching over more than 2,000 kilometres (1,200 mi) in the South Pacific Ocean.

Why is Fiji not part of Polynesia?

As it did so, tensions between the Melanesian and Polynesian people grew and, ultimately, a significant number of the Lapita people chose, or were coerced, to leave Fiji and settle in locations further east, such as Tonga, Samoa and other islands which are today collectively known as Polynesia.

Is Polynesia part of Hawaii?

Hawaii is often considered to be part of Polynesia because it is one of the corners of the Polynesian Triangle which is an area in the Pacific Ocean with three groups of islands at its corners. Other islands such as Tonga, Samoa, Cooks Island, Niue, and Tuvalu, among other islands are located within the triangle.

What is Polynesia known for?

Polynesia is the origin for many cultures including that of Hawaii, Tonga, and Tahiti, among others. The first Polynesians are thought to have migrated to the South Pacific from East Asian locations such as mainland China, Taiwan, and the Philippines.

Is Fiji a part of Polynesia?

Polynesia divides into two distinct cultural groups, East Polynesia and West Polynesia. The culture of West Polynesia is conditioned to high populations. It has strong institutions of marriage and well-developed judicial, monetary and trading traditions. West Polynesia comprises the groups of Tonga, Samoa and Fiji.

Is Australia part of Polynesia?

Oceania has traditionally been divided into four parts: Australasia (Australia and New Zealand), Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia.

Is Guam a Polynesia?

The islands are situated in different regions of the Pacific, with Hawaii in Polynesia and Guam in Micronesia. Historians trace the origins of Hawaiians to Polynesian navigators. Another distinguishing factor: Hawaii is a state.

What are the Polynesian islands?

Comprised of the American Hawaiian Islands to the North, New Zealand to the Southwest and Easter Island to the Southeast, the Polynesian grouping of islands has long been held up as a collection of preeminent touristic destinations known the world over.

What is French Polynesia?

French Polynesia is a self-governing “overseas collectivity” of France that consists of five island groups – the 15 Marquesas Islands, the 14 Society Islands, the 78 islands of the Tuamotu Archipelago, the 14 Gambier Islands, and the 7 Austral Islands – scattered over nearly one million square miles of the South Pacific.

What to do in Polynesia?

Popular tourist activities in French Polynesia include swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, sailing, learning about the culture, ATV tours, and hiking. Samoa is an independent island nation made up of 2 main islands, Upolu and Savaii, plus another eight small islets.

What is the Polynesian Triangle and where is it?

The Polynesian Triangle has three island groups at its corners including Hawaii, Easter Island, and New Zealand. Geographically, the Triangle is established by connecting the points of the three islands. Other island groups included within the Triangle are Samoa, Tong, Cooks Island, Tuvalu, Tokelau, Niue, and French Polynesia.