What are the train numbers?

Alphabetic Listing of Indian Trains – Train Names, Train Numbers and Train Route

# No Train Name
1 15609 Abadh Assam Express
2 58719 Abhanpur Rajim NG Passenger
3 58721 Abhanpur Rajim NG Passenger
4 14722 Abohar Jodhpur Express

Which is the top 10 fastest train in India?

Here is a list of 10 fastest trains of India:

  1. Vande Bharat Express aka Train 18 (New Delhi-Varanasi)
  2. Gatimaan Express (New Delhi-Agra)
  3. New Delhi- Bhopal Shatabdi Express.
  4. Mumbai- New Delhi Rajdhani Express.
  5. Sealdah-New Delhi Duronto.
  6. New Delhi-Kanpur Shatabdi Express.
  7. New Delhi-Howrah Rajdhani Express.

Where is train number written on train?

If the first digit is 0, 1 or 2 and the second digit is 2, the third digit identifies the railway zone where the train is maintained, except for 0 (Y20XX, the Shatabdi and Jan Shatabdi Express in all zones): 1 (Y21XX): Central and some West Central zone trains.

What is train coach number?

All coach position numbers are referenced by numeric number. For example if your coach position number is 12, it means that it is 12th coach starting from engine. Please note that if your ticket is in wait list even after chart is prepared, your ticket PNR number would not be able to track train bogie position.

What is the meaning of train coach number?

The first two numbers signify the year in which the coach was manufactured. Looking at the above picture, we know that this one was manufactured in 2004. The other three digits signify the type of coach. Sometimes there is an alphabet used as a suffix to this 5 digit code.

What is D3 train?

D1, D2, D3 etc are Second Class Sitting (2S) coaches meant for use as Reserved Coaches basically, but it is possible that a few (the higher numbered ones) coaches are left as UnReserved due to lack of demand (for advance reservation) and people are comfortable in securing their own seat on arrival even if the train …

What is the meaning of train number 1 in Indian Railways?

1 is for all long-distance trains, including the Rajdhani, Shatabdi, Jan Sadharan, Sampark Kranti, Garib Rath, Duronto, and other classes. 2 is also for long-distance trains; it is to be used when train numbers starting with 1 are exhausted in any series. 3 is for Kolkata suburban trains.

When did Indian Railways switch from four-digit to five-digit number system?

In accordance with an Indian Ministry of Railways decision, Indian Railways switched from its previous four-digit numbering system for passenger trains to a five-digit system on December 20, 2010. The first digit of the train number indicates the type of train:

How did train numbers get their numbers?

Before 1989, trains had numbers that were allotted by their respective zonal railways (and much before, by the independent railway companies). These numbers were usually simply sequential, starting from 1 and working up through 1-digit, 2-digit, and 3-digit numbers.

What are the revised timings of Central Railway special trains?

Central Railway has decided to revise the timings of following Special Trains to improve the punctuality within Central Railway jurisdiction with immediate effect. The revised arrival/ departure timings are almost preponed by 10 to 30 minutes. Accordingly, the timings of other intermediate stations will also change.