What are the 4 steps of pollination?

Let’s break the fertilization process down into four generalized steps.

  • Step 1: Pollination. In general, male gametes are contained in pollen, which is carried by wind, water, or wildlife (both insects and animals) to reach female gametes.
  • Step 2: Germination.
  • Step 3: Penetration of the Ovule.
  • Step 4: Fertilization.

What are the 7 steps of pollination?

Terms in this set (7)

  • a bee seeks nectar from a flower.
  • while gathering nectar from the nectaries the bee brushes against the anthers.
  • pollen from the anthers stick to the bee’s hairy body.
  • the bee moves to another flower on another plant.

What are the three methods of pollination?

This eventually leads to the formation of the seed, which can grow into a new plant.

  • Self-pollination. In self-pollination, the pollen from the anther of a flower is transferred to the stigma of the same flower or the stigma of a different flower on the same plant.
  • Cross-pollination.
  • Pollination Activity.

What are the 4 types of pollination?


  • Zoophilous flowers– In this type of pollination, the pollinating agents are animals like human beings, bats, birds etc.
  • Anemophilous flowers– These flowers are pollinated by the agency of wind.
  • Entomophilic flowers– These flowers are pollinated by insects.

What is plant fertilization process?

Plant Fertilization: the process of fusion of the female gamete, the ovum or egg and the male gamete produced in the pollen tube by the pollen grain. The male gametes of the flower are transferred on to the female reproductive organs through pollinators.

What are the 5 methods of pollination?

Plants have evolved many intricate methods for attracting pollinators. These methods include visual cues, scent, food, mimicry, and entrapment.

What is the common method of pollination?

The most common method is cross-pollination where pollen is transferred between flowers on two different plants. Self-pollination takes place when pollination occurs within just one flower or between flowers on the same plant.

What are the five agents of pollination?

What Is Pollination?

  • Insects such as bees, butterflies, moths, beetles, and flies.
  • Birds.
  • Bat.
  • Wind.

How is pollination done in nature?

Natural pollination consists of the transfer of pollen between the male and female organs of the flowers, without human intervention. In other words, pollen is transferred from the stamens to the stigma of the flowers, where it fertilises the ovules, making seed and fruit production possible.

What is the order of flower reproduction?

The major stages of the flower life cycle are the seed, germination, growth, reproduction, pollination, and seed spreading stages.