Are octopus molluscs?

octopus, plural octopuses or octopi, in general, any eight-armed cephalopod (octopod) mollusk of the order Octopoda. The true octopuses are members of the genus Octopus, a large group of widely distributed shallow-water cephalopods. (See cephalopod.)

What are the three classes of phylum Mollusca?

The major classes of living mollusks include gastropods, bivalves, and cephalopods (Figure below).

  • Gastropods. Gastropods include snails and slugs. They use their foot to crawl.
  • Bivalves. Bivalves include clams, scallops, oysters, and mussels.
  • Cephalopods. Cephalopods include the octopus and squid.

Is a jellyfish a mollusk?

question_answer Answers(2) Ans: Phylum mollusca include soft bodied animals with hard shell Eg: snails, octopus, mussels, oysters. Phylum Coelenterata contain special structure called coelenteron where the food digested.It include jelly fish and sea anemones.

What are the 5 main classes of Mollusca?


Class Major organisms
Gastropoda all snails and slugs including abalone, limpets, conch, nudibranchs, sea hares, sea butterflies
Bivalvia clams, oysters, scallops, geoducks, mussels, rudists†
Polyplacophora chitons
Cephalopoda squid, octopuses, cuttlefish, nautiluses, Spirula, belemnites†, ammonites†

Why octopus is Mollusca?

If you compare the two diagram photos, an octopus (also it’s closest comrade the squid) has all it takes to be classed as a mollusc, possessing metanephridia (aka kidney), radula (in form of chitinous tooth called beak), muscular feet and most importantly, a mantle and a lack of backbone unlike a fish which has a …

Why octopuses are kept under Mollusca?

Octopuses can camouflage very well in their surroundings. They have ink glands that they use to defend themselves or escape from predators. They show all the characteristic features of Phylum Mollusca and are triploblastic, bilaterally symmetrical, and found in various regions of the ocean.

Is Starfish a mollusk?

Starfish belong to the phylum Echinodermata. Mollusks are a separate phylum of animals. Although both phyla are made up of invertebrates, differences in their anatomy are why starfish are classified as echinoderms and not mollusks.

Is a snail a mollusk?

The Class Gastropoda (in Phylum Mollusca) includes the groups pertaining to snails and slugs. The majority of gastropods have a single, usually spirally, coiled shell into which the body can be withdrawn.

What are the six classes of phylum Mollusca?

Classes in Phylum Mollusca This phylum can be segregated into seven classes: Aplacophora, Monoplacophora, Polyplacophora, Bivalvia, Gastropoda, Cephalopoda, and Scaphopoda.